Skip to content

A hello after goodbye

September 2, 2011

It doesn’t feel that long, but it has been two years since I posted my last post at the old blog site. Time sure flies real quick.

I’ve been meaning to write again, but there was always something that got in the way, and before I know it, it is now 2011. And when I’m about to prepare stuffs to write for this new blog, a funny thing happened; one of the topics I most interested to write about has decided to exit the news: Steve Jobs resigned as the CEO of Apple Inc.

Shucks. Damn it.  How could you?

Those are my initial reaction, honest. First, I thought it was some kind of a prank. But when every news sites, every blogs, and everyone were singing the same tweet at Twitter, I just sat there motionless staring at the iPad screen on my lap. I couldn’t accept it, selfish? Hell, I didn’t care. I thought I will keep seeing how Steve Jobs wow me, and everybody else around the world, whenever he take the stage and unveil a new amazing device, like he always did. I thought I will always write about his controversial comments, and about how psychedelic his actions are.

I tried to rationalized Steve Jobs resignation, I read every news about it that I could find. His resignation letter to the Apple board felt so bitter, especially this part of his words:

“I have always said if there ever came a day when I could no longer meet my duties and expectations as Apple’s CEO, I would be the first to let you know. Unfortunately, that day has come.”

Why now? I was expecting so much from him than any other of those boring CEOs in Sillicon Valley. Without him at the helm of the most innovative tech company in the world, thanks to him, who will protect us from those cheap-skates, unfriendly and horrible products. It was Steve Jobs who introduced this sacred line in the tech world and made it true: “You’ve got to start with the customer experience and work backwards for the technology”

Then I read about this comment from Steve Wozniak: “Steve needs now to just have some ‘Steve time. “He deserves it.” What the…? I didn’t know what he really meant by saying that. Days after that, I kept searching the internet for more answer, in hope to find a more compelling answer as to why Steve Jobs resigned. And then, another funny thing happened, I stumbled upon this Lisen Stromberg’s blog when I was just about to make my blog. Her blog title immediately caught my eyes at the featured section of the WordPress home page, it is titled: My Neighbor, Steve Jobs.

It was a very beautiful blog (thank you Lisen! :)), I had to hold a tear coming out from my eye, you best read it if you haven’t. But I was more than caught off with this one paragraph from her blog:

“In time, things changed. The walks were less frequent, the gait slower, the smile not so ready. Earlier this year when I saw Steve and his wife walking down our street holding hands, I knew something was different. Now, so does the rest of the world.”

It was like a lightning strikes my mind, I suddenly remembered one of this amazing photo taken after Steve unveiled iPad 2, where he softly rest his head on his wife, Laurene, after Steve successfully delivered WWDC 2011 keynote. Such a heart warming gesture, one that shows how exhausted Steve was, and then I understand very well what Wozniak meant before.

Steve Jobs knew. And I guess his family, including the closest person to him, his wife; Laurene, also knew that it’s time. I’m sure it’s not an easy decision for him, a lot more difficult than all of us Apple fans to accept that it’s the time for him. We’ve seen him numerous time, through keynotes session year after year, or when he appeared in public for a press release, or when someone took a picture of Steve candidly, all are showing how physically fragile he is with his current health condition.

I get it now. I finally accepted Steve resignation. The words he didn’t mention in his resignation letter, the words that he don’t say in public, are all now crystal clear to understand why he had to do it.

So Steve, I don’t think I have anything else to say but to offer you my most sincere pray for your health and happiness. No kind words, nor poetic writing is enough to accompany your gracious departure from the spotlight. I can only wish to see you again some time around, or perhaps someday somehow hear you deliver another “oh, and one more thing..”, but I do know that I’ll keep seeing your legacy whenever I use an Apple product.

Thank you Steve for daring to dream, for making your dream come true, and for showing us what really great dream they are. You sure have made ‘a ding’ in our universe.

And with that have been said, now it’s time for me to start my blog. Hello, and here we go..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

