Skip to content

“Hi, this is Steve Jobs.”

October 12, 2011

That’s one line in a phone call that we all were hoping for.

No matter what you do for a living, we all get excited when Steve Jobs calls you out of nowhere. That shows how much different a Steve Jobs was, from any other public figures or celebrities. And very few are fortunate enough to got a call from the man himself.

Aaron Sorkin, an Academy Award winning American screenwriter, made jealous a lot of Apple fans, including me, because he had a phone-friendship with Steve. Aaron never even met Steve, but he felt how heart warming his firendship with Steve:

“The second-to-last call I got from Steve came the day a television series of mine was canceled. “I just want to make sure you’re not discouraged,” he said. Why would an almost stranger take even 60 seconds out of his day to make that call? It had to have been because he was an awfully nice man. And that he knew what it felt like to blow it on a big stage.”

And while Noah Wyle, the actor who is well known for playing Steve Jobs in TNT’s “Pirates of Silicon Valley” movie, also received an unforgetable call from Steve:

“Noah?” said the voice.

“Yes,” I said.

“This is Steve Jobs.”

My heart started beating through my shirt. And he said—and I’ve memorized this—”I’m just calling to tell you I thought you did a good job. I hated the movie, I hated the script, I think if you had spent a little more time and a little more money and maybe a little more attention to detail, you could have had something there. But you were good.”

Speaking of movie, Sony Pictures is trying to acquire rights to make Steve Jobs movie based on the upcoming authorized biography by former CNN chairman and Time Magazine managing editor Walter Isaacson. It would be a delight to see Noah reprises his role as Steve Jobs if the bio is really going to be made a movie, after all Steve gave his approval when he met Noah:

So he bought me a plane ticket to New York the next month and I went over to the Four Seasons Hotel, went up to his room, knocked on his door, and there I was staring face-to-face with Steve Jobs, and he looked me up and down from my toes to the top of my head, and smiled, “Yeah, you do look like me.”

I wonder who will play Bill Gates..

For further note on the picture above, it’s a rare photo of the young Steve Jobs and Bill Gates side by side taken in 1991. One thing for certain, that look in Steve’s eyes has the very same sharpness whenever he took the stage after stage to deliver his famous keynotes, he believed what he’s doing will change the world. On the other hand, Bill’s eyes, well..

Another noteworthy photo comes from Newsweek’s Special Commemorative Issue, starring the also rare photo of young handsome Steve Jobs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

